Jansen, Bailey, Driscoll Lead Boys Lax Force


Michele Lucas

Senior Captains David Driscoll, Tyler Bailey, and Eric Jansen.


After winning a Division II State Championship in 2009, having three alumni (Davis Butts, Pete Bowes, and Matt Shakespeare) play in the Division I College Lacrosse 2012 Championship, and being Bay State League Champion in 2008, 2009, and 2010, Walpole Boys Lacrosse had their first losing season (7-12) last year.  Due to the loss of the talented class of 2011, the 2012 starting lineup contained many inexperienced, younger players.  Senior Captains Eric Jansen, Tyler Bailey, and David Driscoll hope last year’s losing record was an abnormality for a normally skilled and talented program, and that this year will return as a force in the Bay State League.

 The boys have a new attitude and are looking to improve last year’s 7-12 record. This year, the Rebels hope to avoid injuries, which also were a factor in last year’s season, allow players to grow and mature more, and work hard on the field and during practice.

 Unlike last year’s miraculous entrance into the tournament beating Norwood in the last game of the regular season, this year the Rebels, by improving their record, look to make a deep run into the playoffs. Last year’s lucky entrance in to the state tournament was quickly ended when they played against the seventh ranked team in the state Medfield and lost 12-4. “This year, said Jansen, “we expect to win. We are changing our attitude by going into every game with more confidence. The returning starters especially on offense will be putting up huge numbers against opposing defenses.”

 There is enough talent in the returning players who have had a year to mature and to get back on track to be the “team to beat” in the Bay State League. To achieve this goal Coach Andalo said, “we want our guys to work hard in practice to make themselves the best player they can be which will hopefully help us have a successful season.”